“That’s where my heart is”

People say “that’s where my heart is” or, “my heart just wasn’t in it”, there is even a song about a man leaving his heart in San Francisco (is that even possible?)

That leaves me asking this, “if your heart is somewhere else why aren’t you there yet?” Honestly. Why aren’t they there, If their heart is there, why isn’t their physical anatomy?

That left me with this conclusion: if their physical self isn’t there, their heart shouldn’t be either.

Easier said than understood, right?

Two years ago I felt called to Cameroon Africa. I had a packed summer but Cameroon did not make the list of places I went. It wasn’t until mid way through my summer that God opened my eyes to the fact that I had been to Cameroon, in fact He told me I was in my Cameroon right then. Your heart, mission field, focus, love, should be on where you are right now.

Many of you have heard the story of Esther; how she becomes queen as her people are about to be gruesomely destroyed. Her uncle Mordecai comes to tell her, “If you keep silent at this time, liberation and deliverance will come to the Jewish people from another place, but you and your father’s house will be destroyed. Who knows, perhaps you have come to your royal position for such a time as this.” (Esther 4:14 HCSB)

He didn’t say, “for such a time as that” he said, this time. Now. Right now, no other.

You are where you are on purpose by a sovereign powerful God.

Don’t let your heart wander where your body cannot.

Cherish the now, and minister, love and serve there.


One thought on ““That’s where my heart is”

Leave a comment